Huis voor democratie en rechtsstaat

Roosevelt in The Hague: The Four Freedoms

Donderdag 17 mei 2018, 10:00 uur - 16:30 uur

On 17 May 2018, the public will have the chance to meet and talk to the winners of the Roosevelt Foundation Four Freedoms Awards 2018. If you are interested, please read on!

Roosevelt Foundation: Four Freedoms

Each year, the Roosevelt Foundation issues awards to people or organisations that have made outstanding contributions to the Roosevelt Four Freedoms. On Thursday 17 May, the 2018 laureates will meet with young participants (students and young professionals) to talk about the future of the Four Freedoms. The event will be held in Nieuwspoort (The Hague) and will be organised by the Roosevelt Foundation in collaboration with ProDemos and the T.M.C. Asser Institute.

We are looking for interested participants (aged under 35) who are available on 17 May from 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and are keen to take an active part in the round-table discussions with the laureates.


If would enjoy doing so, please get in touch with us! Participants must register their interest with Tatjana Meijvogel-Volk by 4 May at the latest, by providing their name, home address, e-mail address, telephone number, a brief description of their academic/professional career (in one sentence) and their preference for a discussion table (first and second choice).

Both the morning and afternoon sessions of the event will be run in English. The laureates will introduces themselves in the morning session and the round-table discussions are in the afternoon. For more information about the programme, please contact Tatjana.

Five Laureates

The five awards and winners (each representing one round table) are as follows:

  • The International Four Freedoms Award – Costa Rican diplomat Christiana Figueres Olsen for representing the many people whose hard work and dedication contributed to the realisation of the Paris Climate Agreement.
  • The award for the Freedom of Speech and Expression – Turkish journalist Erol Önderoǧlu.
  • The award for the Freedom of Worship – South Sudanese Bishop Paride Taban.
  • The award for the Freedom from Want – Belgian conservationist Emmanuel de Merode on behalf of the Virunga Alliance in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • The award for the Freedom from Fear – Nepalese human rights activist Urmila Chaudhary.